East Lansing, MI -Congratulations to our 2017 Michigan PGA Omega Player of the Year Scott Hebert from Traverse City Golf & Country Club. Scott’s highlights included picking up his first Match Play Championship at Tullymore Resort. This 16th Michigan PGA Section Major Championship victory surpasses both Al Watrous and Jeff Roth at 15 majors and makes Scott the all- time leader for major Michigan Section victories by a Michigan PGA Club Professional. This also gives Scott the career grand slam as this was the final major he was missing in addition to the Michigan PGA Professional Championship, Michigan Open Championship and the Tournament of Champions.

Scott finished T16 this year at the 50th PGA Professional Championship at Sunriver Resort in Sunriver Oregon. With this finish Scott qualified for and competed in the 2017 PGA Championship at Quail Hollow Golf Club in Charlotte, NC this past August.

Scott finished tied for 7th at the Tournament of Champions and tied for 3rd at the Michigan PGA Professional Championship and then capped off his season with his win at the Northern Chapter Championship.

This is the 8th time that Scott has won the Michigan PGA Section Player of the Year Award. This puts him 3 ahead of the 5 time winners of this award dating back to 1954. Those 5 time winners include : Brian Cairns, Buddy Whitten, Lynn Janson and Walter Burkemo.

Once again this year Omega is the presenting sponsor of the Michigan Section Player of the Year race. Omega has provided $10,000 for those Michigan PGA Members that finish in the top 10 year end points race. OMEGA is proud to be the Official Timekeeper of The PGA of America. The partnership represents a major breakthrough for OMEGA, expanding the innovative watchmaker’s rich history in sports timekeeping and reflecting its commitment to the global growth of the game of golf. OMEGA is responsible for the on-course venue timekeeping at all PGA of America major championships and is a presenting sponsor of your PGA Professional National Championship.

For  the official 2017 year end Player of the Year Points Race click HERE

Congratulations to the following Michigan PGA Members that finished in the top 10:
1 Scott Hebert $2,000.00
2 John Seltzer $1,600.00
3 Kyle Martin $1,200.00
4 Brian Cairns $1,000.00
5 Lee Houtteman $ 900.00
6 Jim Troy $ 800.00
7 Josh Fryer $ 700.00
8 Gary Lewandowski $ 650.00
9 Ron Beurmann $ 600.00
10 Jim Deiters $ 550.00

Speak Your Mind