Lee Houtteman wins the Michigan Senior PGA Professional Championship !

Harbor Springs, MI -Lee Houtteman from Manitou Passage Golf Club found a way to pick up his second Michigan Senior PGA Championship title in a 3 hole playoff over Brian Cairns from the Fox Hills Learning Center today at Birchwood Farms Golf & Country Club.

On Monday Brian Cairns from the Fox Hills Learning Center and 2015 National Senior PGA Player of the Year continued his fine play shooting a (-6) under par round of 66, giving him a one shot lead heading into the second round.

Some other familiar names  found there way to the top of the leaderboard as well in round 1. 2012 champion Lee Houtteman and 2011 champion Randy Erskine were just one shot back after rounds of 67.2013 champion Ron Beurmann was just two back heading into the second round after shooting a 68.

Brian Cairns and Lee Houtteman separated themselves from the field on the back nine and both entered the final hole tied at (-8) under par for the tournament. Lee opened the door for Brian after he hit is tee shot out of bounds. After finding the left rough Brian pushed his second shot right that bounced off of the fence and ended up behind a pine tree. Brian then played a great shot through the tree to get the ball to the back fringe. Lee hit his fourth shot on the green and holed a 20 foot putt for  a bogey. This forced Brian to make his 5 foot bogey putt, sending them into a playoff.

It took 3 playoff holes as Lee Houtteman made birdie at the par 4 third hole to win  his second Michigan Senior PGA Professional Championship.

Randy Erskine made a 25 foot birdie putt on the final hole to finish 3rd place alone overall and 1st place in the 60-69 division.

In the 70 and over division Nick Berklich pick up the win with a two shot victory over Terry Carlson.

Congratulations as well to the following players that qualified for the 28th Senior PGA Professional Championship presented by Mercedes-Benz USA to be held November 17-20 ,2016 at PGA Golf Club in Port St Lucie, Florida : Lee Houtteman, Brian Cairns, Randy Erskine, Ron Beurmann, Jeff Gniewek, Frank McAuliffe, Mick DeKorver, Brad Dean, Bob Elliott and Steve Wakulsky.

We would like to thank Birchwood Farms Golf & Country Club for opening their doors once again and hosting this event for the fourth year in a row.  The golf course was in great shape and they always make for a great host.

For final results click HERE


Speak Your Mind