Fall Meeting a Success!

The Michigan PGA held its Annual Fall Meeting on Monday, October 26. With approximatcrowd-resizeely 260 Members in attendance, President Doug White welcomed everyone to Eagle Eye Golf Club. He also welcomed special guests Legal Counsel John Allen, former Executive Director Ken Devine, Mike O’Donnell PGA, Senior Director, Player Development Regional Manager, Brent Kerstetter, Sanford Financial Services, Brent Curtis & Drew Spuller, Senior PGA Championship, Chad Seymour, District 5 Director and all Past Presidents in attendance.

Jim Dewling administered the invocation and remembered deceased PGA members Blaine Anderson, Tom Deaton, Dick Haughton, John Jawor, Ron LaParl, Gary Whitener, and long-time friends of the Section Lin Buck, Spaulding & Callaway sales rep, Roger Ostrander, rules official and Calvin Peete, Michigan Golf Hall of Fame member.

President White thanked the Board and staff for their commitment and dedication during his tenure as president. Outgoing Board plaques were given to Gary Koenes, Matt Barton, Shaun Bezilla, Frank McAuliffe, Bill Mory, Kevin Muir and Gary Smithson.

Vice President Ron Osborne, along with Executive Director Kevin Helm, reviewed budget numbers through September, 2015, and Brent Kerstetter reviewed the Section’s investments.

Secretary Kevin McKinley explained a few revisions to the MSR requirements, and acknowledged and welcomed new members, quarter century members and the 2015 Michigan PGA Hall of Fame inductees

Honorary President Gary Koenes oversaw the voting for officers. Ron Osborne, Kevin McKinley and Bob Bales were elected President, Vice President and Secretary, respectively. Secretary McKinley declared John Lindert District 5 Director by acclamation.

The membership also voted for the 2016 Special Awards finalists. The following members will have an interview with the Special Awards Committee in February, 2016:

Assistant Professional – Kyle Martin, Heath Scott
Patriot Award – Bob Bales, Kevin McKinley
Horton Smith – Aaron Waltz
Player Development – Ron Osborne, Jordan Young
Teacher of the Year – Jeff Goble, Scott Wilson
Youth Player Development – Raquel Bryant, Ian Ziska
Golf Professional of the Year – Jon Conklin, Pat Croswell
Bill Strausbaugh – Adam Howe, Ian Ziska
Merchandiser – Public – Brian Kotowicz, Ian Ziska
Merchandiser – Resort – Zach Chapin, Wes Wandell
Merchandiser – Private – Pat Croswell, Jeremy Lathwell

Each of the Chapters and Committees gave a brief report, which can be found on www.michiganpgagolf.com, Members Only, Section Meeting area.

Thank you to PGA National Resort & Spa for sponsoring the meeting and Pepsi for sponsoring the luncheon.

Thanks also go out to the members who brought canned goods that will be donated to the Greater Lansing Food Bank as well as water donations for The Boys and Girls Club of Greater Flint.

The afternoon education consisted of Mike O’Donnell, Senior Director of Player Development, PGA of America, helping members explore instruction business opportunities to create customers, grow rounds and generate incremental revenue at our facilities through structured player development programming that addresses all consumer needs. Over 100 Michigan PGA members were in attendance.

Speak Your Mind