Golf Professional of the Year

Criteria includes:

  • Strengths as a player/teacher/merchandiser/tournament administrator/leader/mentor and lifelong example of a model golf professional.
  • Examples of contributions made to candidate’s facility and the game of golf within the Michigan Section.
  • Previous awards and non-golf community involvement.

Doug Kreis | 2019 Golf Professional of the Year

Doug Kreis, a 24-year PGA Member, was raised in Kalamazoo, MI and began working at The Moors Golf Club at 12-years-old, where he stayed until graduating from the University of Maine, in 1991. That fall, he moved to Ft. Myers, FL to work for Jim Butler at the Forest Country Club and spent the next three winters there, along with two summers for Doug White at Barton Hills Country Club. 

In 1994, Doug worked for Tommy Valentine at Lochmoor Club, where he spent four seasons, while also spending winters at Tamarisk Country Club in Rancho Mirage, CA. His first head professional job was at Flushing Valley Golf and Country Club where he worked three years.

In 2001, Doug became just the fifth golf professional at Battle Creek Country Club, where he has spent the past 19 seasons.


  • Served on the Michigan Assistants Association & Central Chapter Board
  • Served on the Western Chapter Board-all chairs, including two years as president
  • 3 terms–Michigan PGA Board
  • 4 years–Michigan PGA Special Awards Chairman


Golf Professional of the Year Award Winners

2019-Doug Kreis
2018-Greg Babinec Watch Greg’s Video
2017-Kevin McKinley
2016-Pat Croswell
2015-Kirk Scheerhorn
2014-Ron Beurmann
2013-Shaun Bezilla
2012-Ron Osborne
2011-Dave Mocini
2010-Frank McAuliffe
2009-John Lindert
2008-Mike Areddy
2007-Dick Stewart
2006-Dave Kendall
2005-Fred Muller
2004-Doug White
2003-Brad Dean
2002-Randy Erskine
2001-Bernie Friedrich
2000-Nick Berklich
1999-Gene Bone II
1998-Bernie Friedrich
1997-Pat Croswell
1996-Larry Mancour
1995-Lee Woodruff
1994-Michael Kernicki
1993-Buddy Whitten
1992-Lynn Janson
1991-David Kendall
1990-Rodger Jabara
1989-Gary Whitener
1988-Frank Jawor
1987-Dick Stewart
1986-Michael Kernicki
1985-John Molenda
1984-Jim Dewling
1983-Jim Picard
1982-Tom Deaton
1981-Glenn Stuart
1980-Roger Van Dyke
1979-Bob Clark
1978-Don Soper *
1977-Gene Bone
1976-Don Soper
1975-Jack Clark
1974-Gregory Matthews
1973-Louis Powers
1972-Frank Metzger
1971-Alex Sinclair
1970-Ray Maguire
1969-Ron LaParl
1968-Tommy Shannon
1967-Al Watrous
1966-Don Soper
1965-Cliff Good
1964-Joe Belfore
1963-Horton Smith
1962-Emil Beck
1961-Warren Orlick *
1960-Joe Belfore
1959-Horton Smith
1958-Al Watrous
1957-Warren Orlick
1956-Joe Devany

 * National Award Winner