National Award Winners


Scott Wilson | 2019 PGA of America Youth Player Development Award

Watch Scott’s PGA of America Youth Player Development Award Video!

Scott Wilson, PGA, a PGA Professional at Bay Meadows Family Golf Course, in Traverse City, Mich., is the recipient of the 2019 “PGA Youth Player Development Award,” given annually to a PGA Golf Professional who has displayed extraordinary and exemplary contributions and achievements in the area of youth player development.

A 21-year PGA Member, Wilson has played an integral role in elevating youth-player development at Bay Meadows, while also re-energizing the Traverse City Junior Golf Association’s programming. His passion and commitment for player development is contagious: The Golf in Schools program he plays a major role in has reached more than 2,000 kids at 17 schools; Drive, Chip & Putt participation continues to increase; and the growth of PGA Jr. League has been incredible. Starting with 28 kids upon Wilson’s arrival in 2015, PGA Jr. League now has enrolled more than 90 boys and girls at Bay Meadows.

Additionally, his Junior Elite program, which takes on 18 juniors each year, is one of his most fulfilling programs: 40 graduates have gone on to play collegiate golf, including a three-time “Miss Golf” in the state of Michigan. Wilson has twice been honored with the Michigan Section Youth Player Development Award (2017, ’19); the Player Development Award three times (2007, ‘08, ‘18); and he’s a multi-award winner for Northern Michigan Chapter. He has also been recognized on Golf Digest’s “Best Teacher in the State” list.

National Award Winners

2019 Scott Wilson Youth Player Development
Watch Scott’s National Special Award Video
2018 Monty Elam Deacon Palmer Award
Watch Monty’s National Special Award Video
2017 Zack Chapin Merchandiser of the Year-Resort
2017 Kevin McKinley Patriot Award
2013 Jordan Young Player Development
2008 Mark Wilson PGA Horton Smith
2006 Dick Stewart Merchandiser of the Year-Private
1985 Roger Van Dyke Bill Strausbaugh
1985 Larry Startzel PGA Horton Smith
1977 Don Soper Golf Professional of the Year
1974 Walter Hagen PGA World Golf Hall of Fame
1969 Dave Hill Vardon Trophy
1968 Chick Harbert PGA Hall of Fame
1965 Emil Beck PGA Horton Smith
1960 Warren Orlick Golf Professional of the Year
1960 Walter Hagen PGA Hall of Fame
1958 Horton Smith PGA Hall of Fame