Michigan PGA Fall Meeting Well Attended!

EAST LANSING, MI – The Michigan PGA held its Annual Fall Meeting on Monday, October 29. With approximately 225 Members in attendance, President Kevin McKinley welcomed everyone to Eagle Eye Golf Club. He also welcomed special guests Legal Counsel John Allen, and Todd Smith, PGA Career Consultant, Alex Wassom, and all Past Presidents in attendance.

Randy White administered the invocation and remembered deceased PGA member Ken Foster.

After Mr. Wassom sang a great rendition of our national anthem town hall discussions then began with Stephanie Jennings moderating Shaun Bezilla, Tim Strickland and Scott Wilson who spoke about their successes in Golf in Schools programs they run.

Doug Kreis then recognized and celebrated Golf Professional of the Year Greg Babinec, PGA of America Deacon Palmer Award winner Monty Elam, and Dick Stewart, 2018 Michigan PGA Hall of Fame inductee, who gave brief overviews of their successes in the golf business.

The town hall portion wrapped up with President McKinley overseeing an At-Large Director candidates forum in which he asked about each candidates’ background and how their past experiences would help as a Board Member, and how does your job uniquely qualify you to serve on the board?

President McKinley presented outgoing Board plaques to Shaun Bezilla, Stephanie Jennings, Dean Kolstad, Doug Kreis and Aaron Waltz (absent).

Vice President Bob Bales then reviewed he Section’s investments and Executive Director Kevin Helm reviewed budget numbers through September 2018.

Hall of Fame Inductee Dick Stewart with Secretary John Pershern

Secretary John Pershern acknowledged and welcomed new members, quarter century members and announced the 2018 Michigan PGA Hall of Fame inductee Dick Stewart.  The Hall of Fame recognizes and acknowledges those PGA Professionals who have excelled in their profession, achieved remarkable accomplishments, and made significant contributions to the game, the industry and the Michigan PGA.

Honorary President Ron Osborne oversaw the voting for At-Large Directors. Those elected were Shaun Bezilla, Stephanie Jennings, Dean Kolstad, Chris Moore and Aaron Waltz.

Special Awards Chair Doug Kreis presented plaques to the 2018 Special Awards winners:

Assistant Professional of the Year – AJ Partenio, PGA
Bill Strausbaugh – Kevin McKinley, PGA
Golf Professional of the Year – Greg Babinec, PGA
Merchandiser of the Year–Private – Mike McGonigal, PGA
Merchandiser of the Year–Public – Ian Ziska, PGA
Merchandiser of the Year–Resort – Elliott Oscar, PGA
Patriot Award – Paul Hawkins, PGA
PGA Horton Smith – Ian Ziska, PGA
Player Development – Scott Wilson, PGA
Teacher of the Year – Adam Schriber, PGA
Youth Player Development – Kelly Sivier, PGA

Special Awards Chair Doug Kreis

The Special Awards winners, National Award winner and Michigan PGA Hall of Fame inductee were honored at a dinner Sunday evening at the Country Club of Lansing.

In Tournament Chair Ian Ziska’s absence, Shaun Bezilla gave a brief recap of the season, and acknowledged Player of the Year Scott Hebert.

All Chapters/Committees reports submitted can be found on www.michiganpgagolf.com.

Many thanks to Pepsi for sponsoring the meeting, and PGA National Resort & Spa the seminar.

The afternoon education seminar featured Michigan PGA Member Mark Wilson presenting “Changes to the Rules of Golf for 2019”.

Topics covered included a look at the new format and language in the Rules. The purpose statements at the start of each Rule will be discussed, along with the many significant changes to rules outcomes and penalties. Golfers at all levels will want to become familiar with what is changing when they start their golf season next year.

Speak Your Mind