2011 Inductees


Gene Bone – Bone, the former head professional at Bay Pointe Golf Club has been victorious in every event sponsored by the Michigan PGA, including the State Pro-Pro, Pro-Am, and Pro-Assistant. He twice was Michigan Open Champion and Michigan PGA Champion. Bone was named Player of the Year in 1966 and the Golf Professional of the Year in 1976, the first to ever receive both honors in Michigan.

Walter Burkemo – Considered one of the finest match play golfers in history, Burkemo was a three-time finalist in the PGA Championship, winning the title in 1953 and was named to the U.S. Ryder Cup team that year. Burekmo captured the Michigan PGA in 1955 and won the Michigan Open four times.

Jim Dewling – Dewling has spent most of his life in golf from early introduction sweeping floors to twice being elected president of the PGA’s Michigan Section. Dewling learned from two outstanding club professionals, Paul VanLoozen at Edgewood Country Club and Hall of Fame member Ray Maguire at Birmingham Country Club. Edgewood co-owner Ernie Fuller encourage Dewling to enroll in Michigan State University in the hospitality and hotel management curriculum.

Dewling graduated from MSU with a business degree in 1966 and became a PGA member. After seven years at Birmingham Country CLub as an assistant professional, Dewling moved into a field he’s never wavered from – club management. He spent 10 years working for Joe and Steve Slavik at the Great Oaks Country Club in Rochester and from that was the seed of Dewling’s Total Golf Inc. He has owned and/or managed more than 40 properties and co-designed three golf courses.

Randy Erskine – Raised in Battle Creek, Randy came to prominence at the University of Michigan by winning the Big Ten Championship in 1970, and he proceeded to win every major amateur golf tournament in the state including the Amateur, the Michigan Medal Play, and the GAM Championship. After turning professional in 1973, he continued his winning ways in the Michigan PGA, the Michigan Open (5 times), and won Michigan PGA Match Play twice. No one else has won all of these major amateur and professional competitions in Michigan.

Walter Hagen – The Captain of every U.S. Ryder Cup Team from 1927 to 1941, the “Haig” won over 50 titles. He won two U.S. Opens, four British Opens, five PGA Championships, five Western Opens, the French Open, the Canadian Open and the Belgian Open. He was the first professional at Oakland Hills and won the 1921 Michigan Open and Michigan PGA in 1930 and 1931. Considered one of the greatest golfers of all time, Hagen was an original inductee in the World Golf Hall of Fame.

Chick Harbert – Known as the longest driver in golf, Harbert was a consistent performer, winning ten PGA Tour events. After twice being a finalist, Chick broke through to win the National PGA Championship in 1954 and was names to two U.S. Ryder Cup Teams. He won five Michigan Open titles (the first as an amateur) and won six Michigan Open PGA Championships. He was named to the PGA Hall of Fame in 1968.

Lynn Janson – The Hastings Country Club Professional won just about everything there is to win in Michigan golf. Lansing native Janson was an All-American at hometown Michigan State University in 1968-70 and won the 1968 Michigan Amateur while in school. After turning professional, Janson went right up the ladder of victories. He won the Assistant Pro Championship in 1974, won four Section championships, three Match Play titles, two Michigan Open and six team championships. He was Player of the Year five times, played in seven National PGA Championships, seven United States Opens and five Buick Opens. Janson also qualified for 12 PGA Club Professional Championships.

Warren Orlick – A Past President of the PGA of America and a member for more than 50 years, Warren was internationally respected as an authority of the Rules of Golf. He was known affectionately as “Mr. Rules”. Orlick served on the Tournament Committees of every major golf tournament for over three decades, including the Masters, the PGA Championship, the US Open, and the Ryder Cup Matches. He was the Head Professional at Tam O’Shanter Country Club in Orchard Lake, for 29 years and was recognized as a mentor to countless aspiring young club professionals.

Horton Smith – While the professional at the Detroit Golf Club, Smith won the 1948 Michigan PGA and 1954 Michigan Open. He served as President of both the National PGA and PGA Seniors. Horton was named to seven U.S. Ryder Cup Teams, and twice was the leading money winner on the PGA Tour. He won 33 professional tournaments in his career including the 1934 and 1936 Masters, along with the 1927 French Open.

John Traub – John Traub made an impressive start in golf, becoming a PGA Member in 1977 and then being named Head Professional at Great Oaks Country Club in 1978. In 1980 he rallied from seventh place to fire a final round 3-under-par 69 and win the National Club Professional Championship. That prestigious title earned Traub a spot in the PGA Cup against Great Britain & Ireland, and a year on the PGA Tour.

In Michigan, the long-drive Traub won the PGA Championship in 1984 and, as a senior, twice won the Michigan PGA Match Play Championship. He won the Michigan PGA Senior, two Pro-Pro, two Senior-Juniors and two Pro-Assistant titles as well. Head Professional at Detroit Golf Club from 1991-2001, Traub later became widely known for his teaching expertise.

Al Watrous – The most titled golfer in Michigan history, Al was winner of six Michigan Opens, nine Michigan PGA Championships, five Michigan PGA Seniors, and three Michigan Pro-Ams. Watrous won the 1922 Canadian Open, played in the 1927 and 1929 U.S. Ryder Cup Teams, won the National PGA Senior Championship in 1950, 1951, and 1957, and won the PGA Quarter Century and the World Senior in 1957. He was Head Professional at Oakland Hills Country Club for 37 years.

Mark Wilson – Mark Wilson celebrated his 25th year as head professional at Watermark Country Club in Grand Rapids in 2006. He has made a reputation as a Rules of Golf official in Michigan second only to the late Mr. Rules, Warren Orlick, who was elected to the Hall of Fame in 1991.

Wilson is chairman of the PGA of America Rules Committee. He has been a rules official at every PGA Championship since 1990, a referee at the last five Ryder Cups, officiated at 11 Masters Tournaments, three British Opens, two United State Opens and one PGA Tours Players Championship. He was Chief Referee at the 2008 Ryder Cup at Valhalla Country Club in Kentucky.