Scott Hebert wins the Michigan PGA Omega Player of the Year !

East Lansing, MI – Congratulations to our 2016 Omega Player of the Year Scott Hebert from Traverse City Golf & Country Club. Scott wrapped up this title with his win at the Northern Chapter Championship last week at Grand Traverse Resort.

Scott’s highlights this year included picking up his 8th Michigan PGA Professional Championship win this year at Egypt Valley Country Club. Scott won the 36 hole rain shortened event in a playoff over John Seltzer ,both players finished at (-9) under par for the two rounds.

Scott had a nice showing this year finishing T21 at the PGA Professional Championship at Turning Stone Resort in Verona, New York. This year in the Section Match Play Championship Scott made it to the semifinal match losing to the eventual champion Jim Troy in a great match that went all 18 holes. Scott finished tied for 13th at the Tournament of Champions and then capped off his great season with a victory at the Northern Chapter Championship at Grand Traverse Resort – The Bear.

This is the 7th time that Scott has won the Michigan PGA Section Player of the Year Award. This puts him 2 ahead of the 5 time winners of this award dating back to 1954. Those 5 time winners include : Brian Cairns, Buddy Whitten, Lynn Janson and Walter Burkemo.

Finishing in second place this year, just 15 points back was Kyle Martin from the Lochmoor Club. Kyle finished out his great year with a win last week at the Eastern Chapter Championship at Spring Meadows Country Club in Linden ,MI. Kyle also finished runner up at the Michigan PGA Section Match Play Championship this year.

Once again this year Omega is the presenting sponsor of the Michigan Section Player of the Year race. Omega has provided $10,000 for those Michigan PGA Members that finish in the top 10 year end points race. OMEGA is proud to be the Official Timekeeper of The PGA of America. The partnership represents a major breakthrough for OMEGA, expanding the innovative watchmaker’s rich history in sports timekeeping and reflecting its commitment to the global growth of the game of golf. OMEGA is responsible for the on-course venue timekeeping at all PGA of America major championships and is a presenting sponsor of your PGA Professional National Championship.

You can view the entire points list by clicking HERE.  Congratulations to the following Michigan PGA Members that finished in the top 10:
1 Scott Hebert $2,000.00
2 Kyle Martin $1,600.00
3 Brian Cairns $1,200.00
4 John Seltzer $1,000.00
5 Lee Houtteman $ 900.00
6 Josh Fryer $ 800.00
7 Steve Vecellio $ 700.00
8 Gary Lewandowski $ 650.00
9 Chad Kurmel $ 600.00
10 Jordan Young $ 550.00

Speak Your Mind