2019 Special Awards

Congratulations to the
2019 Michigan PGA Special Award Winners!

Award winners will be formally announced at the Michigan PGA’s President’s Dinner to be held this fall. The evening provides an opportunity to honor the 2019 Special Award winners, outgoing Board of Directors, and newly inducted Michigan PGA Hall of Fame Members.

Read the press release here.


Click the winner’s name below to read their bio.
View the Special Awards criteria here

 Assistant Golf Professional of the Year
Emily Rohdy, Bucks Run Golf Club

Bill Strausbaugh Award
Bernie Friedrich, Boyne Resorts

 Golf Professional of the Year
Doug Kreis, Battle Creek Country Club

Horton Smith Award
Kevin McKinley, Treetops Resort

Merchandiser of the Year – Private
Doug Brody, Warwick Hills Golf & Country Club

Merchandiser of the Year – Public
John Paul Westbrook, Indian River Golf Club

 Merchandiser of the Year – Resort
Elliott Oscar, Forest Dunes Golf Club

Patriot Award
Dean Kolstad, Gull Lake View Golf Club

Player Development Award
Mike Fay, BOYNE Golf Academy

Teacher of the Year
Dave VanLoozen, Oakland Hills Country Club

 Youth Player Development Award
Scott Wilson, Bay Meadows Family Golf Course


2019 Special Awards Timeline

 Sept. 4 – Oct. 1, 2018  Link to Nomination form sent to PGA Members via email
 October 1, 2018  Nomination forms due to Michigan PGA Section Office by 11:59pm
 Oct. 22 – Nov. 11  Special Awards Candidates announced!
 View the candidate’s bio forms on MichiganPGAgolf.com
 Nov. 12 – Nov. 16  Voting open!
 December 2018  Announce Special Awards Finalists
 January 16 & 17, 2019  Special Awards Committee interviews finalists
 February 2019  Finalists are submitted for National Special Awards consideration
 October 27  President’s Dinner Awards Night
 Fall 2019  2019 Special Awards Winners are announced at Fall Membership Meeting